DUI / Drunk Driving Defense

DUI / Drunk Driving

DUI / Drunk Driving

Protect Your Rights

If you have been arrested for drunk driving / driving under the influence (DUI) in the Tampa Bay area, consult an experienced local DUI defense attorney immediately. Laws can vary from county to county, and working with a lawyer who specializes in DUI charges in Pinellas, Hillsborough, and nearby Florida counties is critical to protect your rights.

It is extremely important that you speak with a DUI defense attorney as early as possible, prior to the expiration of ten days from your arrest or citation.

Our DUI Experience

The attorneys in the Law Offices of Bjorn Brunvand have been representing individuals facing DUIs in Tampa, St. Pete, Clearwater and the surrounding areas for almost 25 years. Our office defends people facing every drunk driving-related charge from first time DUI to DUI Manslaughter. Each of our attorneys is well versed in every aspect of Florida DUI law and aggressively defends each of the firm’s DUI clients. We practice in courts around Tampa Bay and surrounding counties.

For over two decades, the attorneys in the Law Offices of Bjorn Brunvand have guided clients charged with DUI offenses through the process with the perfect combination of skill, experience, tenacity and understanding. We know that a DUI is often the first and only experience that a person has with the criminal justice system. It can be overwhelming and confusing. Our Tampa DUI attorneys can help from the time of arrest until the final resolution in court.

Why Do I Need to Call a Lawyer?

A DUI charge is much more than a mere traffic citation. DUIs can result in any of a variety of problems including loss of driver’s license, incarceration, fines and fees and a permanent conviction on your record. An experienced DUI defense attorney can review your case from top to bottom to determine if there might be potential defenses to your DUI charge or to your driver’s license suspension.

Law enforcement officers are required to follow certain procedures in investigating and arresting someone for DUI. Field sobriety tests and breath tests must be performed in a specific manner in order to be admissible in court. If these procedures aren’t followed, an experienced Tampa DUI attorney like those in the Law Offices of Bjorn Brunvand will readily identify the failure and use it to seek dismissal of the entire DUI case.

The Law Offices of Bjorn Brunvand keep up-to-date with current changes and developments in Tampa DUI law. It is important to know which legal arguments are finding success in our area courtrooms. We keep an eye on which judges are accepting novel legal arguments and use knowledge to our clients’ advantage. Most recently, law enforcement’s failures in the area of DUI checkpoints and DUI breath tests have been hot topics to follow.

What Penalties Am I Facing for a Florida DUI?

A DUI charge is more than just a traffic ticket. You should not make the mistake of treating it like one. DUI convictions can impact your life in many ways.

First and foremost, you will have a criminal record. Florida law does not allow for DUI convictions to be expunged (removed from your record). This could cause you trouble any time a background check is necessary for employment, rental, professional licensing and other situations.

First DUI offenses can lead to a fine of up to $1,000, probation of up to a year and/or imprisonment for up to six months. Your license can be suspended for up to a year. A second DUI offense will increase your exposure to fines (up to $2,000) and imprisonment (up to nine months). Your license can be suspended for up to five years and you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Three DUI offenses within five years might get you up to five years in prison and a suspended license for up to 10 years. All of these penalties are increased if your BAC is 0.15% or higher or if there is a minor in the vehicle at the time of the DUI.

Detailed Florida DUI Penalties:

DUI/AET = DUI school and Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment if deemed necessary
VIP = Victim Impact Panel
50cs = 50 hours of community service
No ABC = No alcohol, bars and clubs
IC = Invest Costs
MOS/AET = Multiple Offender DUI School and Alcohol Evaluation and Treatment if deemed necessary

OFFENSE NUMBER AMOUNT OF FINE AND COSTS
§316.193
PROBATION PERIOD
§316.193
DL REV PERIOD (CONVICTION TO OFFENSE PER §322.28) JAIL TIME
(CONVICTION TO OFFENSE PER §316.193 & §775.082)
IMPOUND
§316.193
OTHER
RECS

1st below .15

$983

Up to 12 months

6 months to 1 yr.

Up to 6 months

10 days

DUI/AET,VIP, 50cs, No ABC, IC

1st above .15 or person less than 18 yoa in car

$1518

Up to 12 months

6 months to 1 yr.

Up to 9 months

10 days

DUI/AET, VIP,

50cs, No ABC, IC,

6 month ignition interlock

2nd w/in 5yr below .15

$1518

Up to 12 months

5 yrs

Mandatory 10 days

Up to 9 months

30 Days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 1 yr ignition interlock

2nd w/in 5yr above .15

$2558

Up to 12 months

5 yrs

Mandatory 10 days

Up to 12 months

30 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr ignition interlock

2nd outside 5 yr below .15

$1518

Up to 12 months

Up to 1 yr.

Up to 9 months

10 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 1 yr ignition interlock

2nd outside 5 yr

Above .15 or person less than 18 yoa in car

$2558

Up to 12 months

Up to 1 yr.

Up to 12 months

10 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr ignition interlock

Felony 3°/3rd

w/in 10 yr

below .15

$2558

Up to 60 months

10 years

Mandatory 30 days

Up to 5 yrs

90 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr Ignition interlock

Felony 3°/3rd

w/in 10yr

below .15

$4558

Up to 60 months

10 years

Mandatory 30 days

Up to 5 yrs

90 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr Ignition interlock

3rd outside 10 yrs above .15

$2558

Up to 12 months

Up to 1 yr.

Up to 12 months

10 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr Ignition interlock

3rd outside 10 yrs above .15

$4558

Up to 12 months

Up to 1 yr.

Up to 12 months

10 days

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr Ignition interlock

Felony 3°/ Fourth

$3015

Up to 60 months

Permanently

Up to 5 yrs

10, 30, 90 days

depending on priors

MOS/AET, VIP, No ABC, IC, 2 yr Ignition interlock

Why Are the First Ten Days After Being Charged with a DUI So Important?

If you are stopped in the Tampa Bay area (or anywhere in Florida) for DUI, you will be asked to take a breath test to determine the concentration of alcohol in your lungs (and, allegedly by direct correlation, your blood).  If you refuse to take the test or if your BAC tests 0.08% or higher, your driver’s license will be suspended according to Florida law.

After you are arrested for DUI in Florida, you have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an Administrative Hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).  If no hearing is requested within 10 days, your license will be suspended for one year after your first refusal. A second refusal could result in suspension for up to 18 months. If your breath test reached 0.08% or higher, your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of 6 months.

An administrative hearing will be held within 30 days of the request. This will be your only opportunity to get your license back without the suspension.

Our attorneys can also assist you in obtaining hardship or business purposes licensing during your suspension in the event that the suspension is not dismissed.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with DUI in Tampa or surrounding areas, contact us immediately. Call now at 727-446-7505 or fill out our contact form to have us call you. We can also discuss your case privately in either our Clearwater or Tampa office.